SkinnyRx Review: Fast Shipping, Hidden Pharmacy

Updated on

TRUE VALUE SCORE™

C
VA reviewer holding an unopened SkinnyRx medication package.

How we tested SkinnyRx:

  • Placed a real order as a new patient at skinnyrx.com
  • Opened and photographed every item in the delivery
  • Inspected the ice pack and vial condition on arrival
  • Ran the clinic’s support team through phone, chat, and email tests
  • Reverse-engineered the real monthly price from the advertised rate through actual checkout
  • Pulled pharmacy, prescriber, LegitScript, and BBB records
  • Stress-tested the cancellation flow through both portal and phone
  • Compared patient feedback across Trustpilot, Reddit, and BBB
C
  • Placed a real order as a new patient at skinnyrx.com
  • Opened and photographed every item in the deliveryF
  • Inspected the ice pack and vial condition on arrival
  • Ran the clinic’s support team through phone, chat, and email tests
  • Reverse-engineered the real monthly price from the advertised rate through actual checkout
  • Pulled pharmacy, prescriber, LegitScript, and BBB records
  • Stress-tested the cancellation flow through both portal and phone
  • Compared patient feedback across Trustpilot, Reddit, and BBB

What we liked

  • Prescription approval within 24 hours of intake
  • Real human reachable quickly by phone
  • Reliable and free overnight shipping
  • Patient portal that’s professional and easy to navigate
  • Clear explanation of injectable versus sublingual differences
  • HSA/FSA itemized receipts available on request
  • Coverage across 47 states plus Washington, DC
  • HIPAA notice clearly posted with portal data-deletion option

Where it falls short

  • Pharmacy partners never disclosed publicly or on request
  • Prescribing provider not identified before or after sign-up
  • Painful cancellation that required a phone call and five retention attempts
  • Real $261.75/mo price hidden behind a microdose ad
  • Intake demanded ID upload, face scan, and biometric consent
  • Media logos shown with no links and unverifiable claims
  • Ice pack arrived melted and inner package was damp
  • Live chat is AI-only with no human handoff

$261.75

$261.75

$299.25

$299.25

Exact Pricing Not Disclosed

Exact Pricing Not Disclosed

Exact Pricing Not Disclosed

Exact Pricing Not Disclosed

$261.75

$261.75

$299.25

$299.25

Exact Pricing Not Disclosed

Exact Pricing Not Disclosed

Exact Pricing Not Disclosed

Exact Pricing Not Disclosed

1The safety and efficacy of compounded, oral, and microdosed meds, including treatments that have not been inspected and approved by the FDA, cannot be guaranteed.

Is SkinnyRx Right For You?

Before writing this review, we gathered the key details on how SkinnyRx works and what it offers. If these don’t match what you’re looking for, you’re probably better off choosing a different GLP-1 provider.

Intake

The intake quiz ran under 10 minutes from start to finish. Most questions were pre-selected multiple choice with little room to type additional context. At the end, we had to upload an ID, complete a face scan, and consent to biometric data usage with the clinic before submission, which felt closer to a KYC (know your client) verification than a medical questionnaire. The flow closed with a promise to notify us within 24 hours of provider review, and no meeting or phone call with a clinician was mentioned.

Consultation

There is no live consultation at SkinnyRx. The intake review alone is enough for a prescription, and a provider’s decision arrives by email within the 24-hour window. We received an approval email, and the prescription was sent to the pharmacy, all on the same day as the intake. The only follow-up communication was an automated injection-instructions email once the medication was on its way. No video visit, no phone consultation, no provider introduction.

Ongoing Care

Ongoing care runs through the patient portal. SkinnyRx advertises unlimited asynchronous doctor visits, 24/7 messaging, and monthly check-ins, but no specific cadence or expectations for follow-up were set during our intake. Lab work is not required to begin treatment, and the consultation flow never raised blood work as an option for patients who might want it for personal reasons. Dose adjustments and side-effect questions route through the same portal message thread, with no live appointment included in the standard plan.

Treatment Options

Branded & Compounded

Learn more

Insurance Eligibility

Not Accepted

Learn more

HSA/FSA Eligibility

Accepted

Learn more

Available States

47 states

Learn more

Customer Support

Business hours

Learn more

Coaching & Lifestyle

Not Offered

Learn more

Treatment Options

Branded & Compounded

Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide in injection and microdose injection formats, plus the branded options Wegovy, Ozempic, Mounjaro, and Zepbound. No compounded oral tablets or drops. A separate nonrefundable membership fee applies to the branded products.

Insurance Eligibility

Not Accepted

SkinnyRx is a self-pay clinic with no in-network billing for either compounded or branded medications. Even FDA-approved branded GLP-1s are billed out of pocket.

HSA/FSA Eligibility

Accepted

SkinnyRx accepts both HSA and FSA payments, as well as providing itemized receipts on request for HSA or FSA reimbursement.

Available States

47 states

Coverage in 47 states plus Washington DC. SkinnyRx does not serve residents of Alabama, Mississippi, or Louisiana.

Customer Support

During business hours

Phone support is available Mon–Fri 8 a.m.–8 p.m. EST and weekends 9 a.m.–6 p.m. EST. Live chat is AI-only with no human escalation path. Email reaches the support team at [email protected].

Coaching & Lifestyle

Not Offered

No structured behavior, nutrition, or fitness coaching is included or available for purchase. A Facebook community is the only patient-to-patient interaction.

Here’s what happened at every stage of ordering from SkinnyRx, from the intake flow to the moment the vial reached our hands. We open every box, inspect every piece, and grade what we find against real patient safety standards.

Does SkinnyRx Operate Safely and Legally?

Does SkinnyRx hold up across licensing, medication handling, transparency, support, and real patient feedback?

The legitimacy basics almost check out at SkinnyRx. The parent company, Lean Rx, Inc., lists a real Sacramento business address, the HIPAA notice is posted in the portal, and LegitScript shows the clinic as “probationary certified” rather than not certified at all. However, SkinnyRx refuses to name the pharmacies that fill its prescriptions, the prescribing clinicians are not identified anywhere on the public site, and BBB lists 144 complaints filed against the business.


Are SkinnyRx’s providers and pharmacies legit?

Are the pharmacies actually licensed?

SkinnyRx describes its pharmacies only in general terms, as state-licensed 503A facilities that meet FDA compounding rules. The clinic does not publish the names of the specific compounding pharmacies it partners with. We called support to ask directly and were told the same general line, with no named facility shared on request. Without a pharmacy name, the licensing claim cannot be independently verified through any state board.

Are the pharmacies clean of disciplinary actions?

Disciplinary record checks require a specific facility name. Because SkinnyRx withholds its pharmacy partners, no state-board lookup is possible. Most competing clinics either name the pharmacy partner up front or confirm it on request.

Are prescriptions written by a licensed medical professional?

SkinnyRx does not name the prescribing doctor or any specific medical-staffing organization anywhere on its public site. The clinic sells this as facilitating access to independent providers rather than employing them directly. A patient does not learn who is writing the prescription until after sign-up. There is no clinician bio page, no leadership team page, and no medical group attribution that we could find.

Does SkinnyRx meet basic legal requirements?

The parent company Lean Rx, Inc. lists a registered business address at 2108 N Street, Ste N, Sacramento, CA 95816, with [email protected] and 1-877-509-9117 as the published contact details. The HIPAA privacy notice is posted and easy to find from the patient portal. Just keep in mind that, while SkinnyRx lets you delete your personal health information if you delete your account, “some data will remain due to policy requirements.”

LegitScript classifies SkinnyRx as “probationary certified.” That status is granted when the clinic’s current practices meet LegitScript’s criteria, but previous instances of noncompliance kept the listing from full certification.

Does SkinnyRx package and ship your medication properly?

Does the medication stay cold?

The package arrived in a medium bubble mailer that was cold to the touch on the outside. Inside, a temperature-controlled bag held the ice pack and the medication. When we opened the bag, the ice pack had melted and was soft, and the inner package was damp rather than cold. A melted ice pack does not necessarily indicate that the medication has exceeded recommended storage temperatures. Stability depends on the specific medication formulation, packaging, transit duration, and manufacturer instructions. The vial itself was not warm, but it wasn’t as cold as we expected for an overnight shipment.

Is the packaging secure?

The medication vial was stored inside a pill bottle, secured against shifting in transit. Nothing came loose during shipping and the vial arrived intact. The outer mailer protected the contents well enough that no physical damage occurred to the medication itself.

Does the package include everything you need, in the right format?

The box held the medication and what we assumed was an anti-nausea pill but could not confirm because it was not clearly labeled, as well as alcohol wipes and syringes. That was it. There were no information cards, no QR code for injection guidance, no FAQ sheet, no patient-support contact information, and no welcome material identifying SkinnyRx as the clinic that shipped it. The only injection instructions came through an automated email earlier in the order flow. No branded items, no promotional pieces, no swag. A first-time patient opening this box would have no way to tell who sent it.

SkinnyRx alcohol wipes and extra sharps flat lay.
A side view of the SkinnyRx alcohol wipes and extra sharps.
A side view of the SkinnyRx medication vial.
Does the medication arrive on time and is it easy to track?

Tracking arrived in both email and the patient portal. After the shipping notification, overnight delivery put the package on our doorstep within 24 hours. The shipping side of the operation was among the fastest we have tested at any price tier.

SkinnyRx medication vial next to the protective foam package, a large ice pack, and a ziplock with supplies.
SkinnyRx medication vial next to the plastic pill bottle it came in.

Is SkinnyRx straightforward and transparent?

Is the pricing honest and transparent?

The SkinnyRx homepage advertises a microdose price of $149.25/mo. Meta ads quote “from $224/mo.” Neither number is the rate a first-time patient on the standard plan actually pays. The $149.25 figure is the microdose discounted to a 12-month commitment paid in full ($1,791 up front); the $224 figure actually only applies to the microdose plan. Real ongoing pricing for standard-dose compounded semaglutide injection is $261.75 per month. Brand-name pricing requires a phone call. When we clicked the “weight loss” tab to look for a pricing page, the link routed straight to the intake quiz instead. The real cost is hidden behind the intake form by design.

Do they pressure you into buying?

A scrolling banner at the top of the page offers a 25% off coupon to push the visitor into intake. The intake itself runs half medical questions and half marketing, with patient transformation photos and weight-loss promise screens slowing the flow. At checkout, a countdown timer told us to complete the order within fifteen minutes. No discount was tied to the timer; the only purpose was urgency. Countdown timers for a medical prescription may not be appropriate during a healthcare purchasing process and are typically inconsistent with informed medical decision-making.

Is it easy to cancel?

Cancellation was the worst experience we had at this clinic. The portal flow asked a series of questions, surfaced a 10% retention discount, and then required us to call customer service to finalize. The support line was closed when we first tried, so we waited until the next business day. The phone agent attempted retention five separate times before agreeing to process the cancellation. We were placed on hold for about 10 minutes, the agent confirmed the cancellation, and no confirmation email ever arrived. For a clinic that ships within 24 hours, the exit door takes a week to walk through.

Are the photos and claims genuine?

Patient and outcome images on the site appeared authentic. We did not spot signs of AI generation or stock reuse in any of the testimonials.

Are the media mentions and third-party claims legitimate?

The homepage displays Forbes, Fortune 500, NBC, and Yahoo logos with no outbound links. The site also claims that “the medications our licensed weight loss specialists prescribe are recommended by Harvard, Mayo Clinic, WebMD, and the National Institutes of Health” to make it look more legitimate. Obviously, we could not independently verify SkinnyRx coverage in any of those publications or recommendations from those institutions. Logos and endorsements presented without sources are a credibility shortcut and a red flag for any patient checking sources before signing up.

Are they honest about what the medication can do?

SkinnyRx is the rare GLP-1 clinic that explains the difference between injectable and sublingual compounded medications directly to patients. The site states: “Studies have shown injectable medications to be more effective for weight loss,” and follows up with detail on absorption, bioavailability, and clinical evidence behind each format. While it doesn’t note the difference between FDA-approved and compounded injectables, such honest framing on a product category where most competitors hand-wave the differences between forms is good.

Can you get help when you need it?

Can you reach a real person?

Phone support at (888) 979-9580 reaches a human quickly. The agents we spoke with were polite and answered on the first attempt, which is a real change from the voicemail bounces most competing clinics deliver. Email reaches a person at [email protected]. Live chat, by contrast, is AI-only with no human escalation option.

Are responses fast and helpful?

Phone agents answered questions directly without long hold times or scripted responses. Email responses arrived within reasonable timeframes during business hours. The chat agent was an AI bot and produced canned answers, but the phone and email channels carried the support load well.

Does a licensed provider stay involved after you sign up?

SkinnyRx advertises unlimited asynchronous doctor “visits” and 24/7 messaging with monthly check-ins. In practice, no expectations for ongoing follow-up were set during our intake, and no specific cadence for provider check-ins was named. There is no scheduled video visit at any point. Messaging is available 24/7, but the structure of the patient-provider relationship is left undefined until something goes wrong.

Do SkinnyRx’ reviews stack up?

Do the reviews sound real and are they free of consistent issues?

Trustpilot shows a 4.8 rating, which is high. Reddit threads paint a more mixed picture, with users describing significant weight-loss results alongside complaints about pricing, cancellation, and the legitimacy of compounded medications. BBB lists a B rating against 144 complaints filed against the business, a complaint volume that fits the cancellation and pricing patterns we ran into ourselves.

Does the clinic handle complaints well?

Public replies to negative reviews use templated, copy-and-paste language. The responses acknowledge the complaint without addressing the specific issue raised. The pattern reads as surface engagement rather than resolution.

Is SkinnyRx good value for the money?

How much does SkinnyRx really cost per month all in, and is that a good deal?

The headline pricing on SkinnyRx is not the price a first-time patient on the standard plan actually pays. The lowest advertised rate is a microdose 12-month bundle paid in full; the standard monthly rate for compounded semaglutide injection runs $261.75. Real pricing only appears after a face scan, an ID upload, and biometric consent have already been submitted to the clinic. That sequencing is designed for conversion, not for informed patient choice.


How much does medication cost, and is it more expensive than the ads suggest?

SkinnyRx advertises a low $149.25/mo on the homepage and “from $224/mo” on Meta. Both rates reflect microdose plans or 12-month bundle commitments, not the standard monthly cost. Compounded semaglutide injection on the monthly plan is $261.75/mo. Compounded tirzepatide injection runs $299.25/mo. Bundle commitments lower the per-month figure considerably, with semaglutide dropping to $149.25/mo on the 12-month plan paid in full, but those rates require paying $1,791 up front for a year of medication. Branded GLP-1s may carry a membership fee, and you must call to request an exact price quote.

$261.75

$261.75

$299.25

$299.25

Is everything included in the price?

Is the monthly membership included?

There is no separate membership fee for compounded medications. Branded GLP-1s may require a nonrefundable membership fee on top of the medication cost, billed separately from the medication itself, but you must call to verify any prices of brand-name medications, including the membership fee.

Is shipping included?

Overnight shipping is included with every plan at no extra charge. Tracking arrives in email and the patient portal.

Is labwork included?

Lab work is not bundled into any plan and not required before approval. The consultation flow never mentioned blood work. Patients who want labs done for personal or clinical reasons would need to arrange them outside the clinic.

Are doctor consultations included?

Asynchronous messaging with the care team is included in every plan with no per-visit fee. The trade-off is that no live video consultation is offered at any price, so “consultation” here means a portal message thread rather than a scheduled appointment.

SkinnyRx Is For You If…

  • You want same-day approval and a vial in your hand within 72 hours. Approval came in 24 hours, the package shipped two days later, and overnight delivery put the vial on the doorstep within 24 hours of shipping. Few clinics turn intake into delivered medication that fast.
  • You value real phone access to a human agent. Phone agents at SkinnyRx answer quickly and politely, which is uncommon in the GLP-1 space where voicemail is the default. For patients who want a person to talk to during business hours, that access is genuinely valuable.
  • You’re committing to a 12-month bundle and have the cash on hand. The advertised $149.25/mo rate is real, but only if you pay $1,791 up front for a full year of compounded semaglutide. For patients comfortable with the commitment, the per-month rate is competitive.
  • You want the clearest explanation of injectable versus oral GLP-1 differences. SkinnyRx is one of the few clinics that explains the absorption, bioavailability, and effectiveness gap between formats directly to patients. For new patients deciding between formats, the education is useful.

SkinnyRx Is Not For You If…

  • You want to know who fills your prescription. SkinnyRx does not name its pharmacy partners publicly or on request. For patients who care about supply-chain transparency, the lack of disclosure is a dealbreaker.
  • You want to know the provider who is writing your script. The prescribing clinician is not identified anywhere on the public site. You can only see the credentials, name, and license number during the consultation. Most clinics don’t even show the license number or credentials but it’s important to know this information prior to payment.
  • You expect transparent pricing before submitting personal data. The headline $149.25 and $224 rates are bundle and microdose figures, not the ongoing standard cost. The real $261.75 number sits behind a face scan, an ID upload, and biometric consent.
  • You expect to cancel without a phone call. Cancellation requires calling during business hours, surviving five retention attempts, and waiting on hold. No confirmation email was sent after our cancellation was processed.
  • You need live video visits or structured coaching. No video appointments are offered at any price. There is no behavior, nutrition, or fitness coaching program. A Facebook community is the only patient-touchpoint extra. Patients with complex medical histories may want more.

How SkinnyRx Compare

ClinicBest forMonthly costTreatment typesLab testingInsurance
SkinnyRxFast approval and overnight shipping$261.75+Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide (injection, microdose); Ozempic; Mounjaro; Wegovy; ZepboundNot included, not requiredNo
PomegranateTransparent pricing across five named pharmacies$119+Compounded semaglutide (injections); compounded tirzepatide (injections); RybelsusNot included, not requiredNo
Henry MedsBundled health coaching and 50-state coverage$297+CompoundCompounded semaglutide (injections, tablets, microdose); compounded tirzepatide (tablets); liraglutide; phentermineed and branded GLP-1s including microdose and oralsIncluded, not requiredNo
WillowFlat-rate pricing with 24/7 support$299+Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide (injection, tablet)Not included, not requiredNo
C

SkinnyRx earned a True Value Score of C, reflecting fast service and real human support paired with serious transparency and cancellation issues.

Its strengths include 24-hour approval, free overnight shipping, polite phone agents who answered quickly, and a clear explanation of injectable versus oral GLP-1 differences. Its weaknesses are considerable, though, with undisclosed pharmacy partners and prescribers, a frustrating cancellation flow, and an advertised price that bears little resemblance to what a first-time patient actually pays.

For patients who already know they want compounded semaglutide and can commit to a 12-month bundle, SkinnyRx delivers a working product quickly. For patients who want pharmacy transparency, named providers, or a clean exit door, the trade-offs are steep.

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions about SkinnyRx answered

Does SkinnyRx Accept Insurance?

SkinnyRx does not accept insurance for compounded or branded GLP-1s. It is a self-pay clinic with no in-network billing. HSA and FSA payments are accepted.

Is the $149.25 Price Real?

The $149.25/month price is the equivalent monthly rate for the compounded semaglutide microdose plan that requires a 12-month commitment paid in full at $1,791. The standard monthly rate for compounded semaglutide injections is actually $261.75. The headline number is real but only available through a year-long up-front bundle.

How Hard Is It to Cancel SkinnyRx?

Cancelling SkinnyRx is difficult. The portal flow funnels patients into a phone call during business hours, surfaces a retention discount, and routes through five retention attempts before processing. No confirmation email arrives after cancellation is processed. Plan on at least an hour to exit cleanly.

Which Pharmacy Fills SkinnyRx Prescriptions?

SkinnyRx does not name the pharmacies that fill its prescriptions. The clinic describes its partners only in general terms, as state-licensed 503A compounding pharmacies, and would not name a specific facility when we asked support directly. Independent licensing verification is not possible without that information.

Who Is the Prescribing Provider at SkinnyRx?

SkinnyRx does not identify its prescribing clinicians or the associated medical practice on its public site. The clinic describes its role as facilitating access to independent providers rather than employing them. A patient learns who their provider is only after intake approval, and provider identity stays thin in the portal record.

What GLP-1s Does SkinnyRx Offer?

SkinnyRx offers compounded semaglutide and compounded tirzepatide in injection and microdose injection formats, plus branded Ozempic, Mounjaro, Wegovy, and Zepbound. No compounded oral tablets or drops are available. Branded GLP-1s require a separate non-refundable membership fee on top of the medication cost.

Does SkinnyRx Require Lab Work Before Approval?

SkinnyRx does not require lab work to begin treatment. The consultation flow never raised blood work or panel requirements, and approval came within 24 hours of submitting the intake. Patients who want labs done for personal or clinical reasons would need to arrange them outside the clinic.

Does SkinnyRx Offer Video Visits?

SkinnyRx does not offer video visits as part of the standard flow. The clinic is async-only, with approval delivered through email after the intake quiz and ongoing care running through portal messaging. There is no scheduled video appointment with a provider before or after the prescription is written.

Disclaimer: The findings in this article come from our direct ordering and testing experience and should not be treated as medical guidance. Talk to a licensed clinician before beginning, adjusting, or stopping any prescription.